Winter warmer chilies

This winter there will be plenty of warming dishes on the table! It will soon be time to harvest this first attempt at growing my own chilies, and I’m preeetty happy with the results. 🙂 Not only does the harvest make me happy, but just looking at all the shapes and colors releases endorphins… =D Eating chili is also said to release endorphins, so what a great way to make up for any winter blues! How hot chilies are, varies with the chili variety and growing conditions, the spice heat being measured in Scoville Heat Units (SHU). The SHU are a measure of how much capsaicin – the hot substance – the chili contains. A bell pepper with no heat rates 0 and the strongest chilies rate around 2,000,000. Pepper spray, btw, is stronger than that.

Below are pictures of the chili varieties I am growing this year, and their estimated SHU.

3 comments on “Winter warmer chilies

  1. WOW!!!!!! Samler du frø? Så ku man måske få fat i blot et par af sorterne til sortimentet på Fejø Retreat næste år. Jeg har mange flotte chilli planter, men kun een sort. Og de er ikke modne endnu, fordi jeg var for sent ude med udplantningsprocessen. Chili er jo oså en medicinplante heler og forebygger smertesymptomer – har jeg læst i en tysk urtebog, der virker rimeligt seriøs.

    • Ja, jeg tager frø, alt det jeg kan. =D Bl. a. derfor dyrker jeg helst kun OP sorter. De her er forspiret inde, i februar, og har stået i drivhus sommeren over. Jeg har haft nogle på friland, men der er ikke mange af dem der når at modne frugt. Desværre har jeg ingen steder at overvintre dem, men jeg trækker den så længe jeg kan med bobbelplastisolering i drivhuset. Genbrugs, selvfølgelig 😉

  2. Pingback: Chilies are home | browngoesgreen

Leave a Reply

